My Favorite Number, My Best Year Ever?

Standard

On Monday, I turned 27. I’m extremely excited about this development for a very simple reason: 27 is the best number ever.

  • Jeff was born on March 27.
  • Sydney, our dog, was born on September 27.
  • Our good friend Roman (Jeff’s best man) was born on December 27.
  • Jeff received his job offer that enabled us to move home to Indianapolis on April 27.

Just a few reasons why the number rocks my world. I have a feeling 27 will be the best year ever!

We had an absolutely fantastic weekend celebrating my favorite birthday. On Friday night, we hung out with our friends Neil and Jesse, playing games and drinking sweet tea vodka. On Saturday night, we officially celebrated with a group of friends at a delicious restaurant in downtown Indy called Black Market. I didn’t bring my camera, but we had an amazing spread of food–duck sliders, chickpea & kale fritters and beef tongue (surprisingly delicious) to start, followed by a chipotle flank steak for the main course and Greek yogurt panna cotta to finish. I will be making this at home very soon!

On Monday, my actual birthday, my brother and I hit an amusement park to ride some rollercoasters! His birthday is actually the day before mine, so it was a dual celebration. 23 and 27 for the win!

Then last night, Jeff and I had dinner at my parents’Β  house, where I received the BEST BIRTHDAY PRESENT EVER. Jeff and my dad collaborated to buy me a Nikon D3000 point-and-shoot DSLR camera!!!!!! I have a feeling this will take my blogging to a whole new level. Some pictures from the evening:

Of course my first shot was of Sydney and Jeff. πŸ™‚

Then I snapped some shots of Sydney with one of my parents’ dogs, Bowie. I have a feeling dog photos will be a frequent recurrence!

Next I practiced some candid shots of my family, and then Jeff took a couple good ones of me with my parents.

After a tutorial on the different settings from my dad, a seasoned photographer, Jeff and I headed home. On the way to the car, we got caught in an intense downpour. By the time we’d walked the eight yards to the car, we were completely drenched! I couldn’t resist getting a pic of Sydney all wet and dejected.

I had an absolutely amazing 27th birthday, and I’m beyond excited for a year that includes marrying the most amazing man I’ve ever met. In short, bring it on! πŸ™‚

4 responses »

  1. Happy belated 27th Lauren! You’re going to have SO much fun with your new camera!

    Duck sliders and kale and chickpea fritters?? Holy deliciousness. Sounds like that spread was the bomb.

    AND rollercoasters! Girl, my 30th birthday is coming up and I want rollercoasters!!!

    You’re a lucky gal πŸ™‚

  2. Happy belated birthday! I just finished up being 27…and I hate to say it but it was NOT my year. But 28 is looking up! Perhaps 27 set me up for a great 28 πŸ™‚ Have fun with the new camera!

Leave a Reply

