On Gratitude (Thankful Thursday Post)

Standard

I’m not feeling very thankful for my life at the moment. I feel overwhelmed by work and wedding planning. I’ve been spending way too much money recently and I’m pissed at myself for letting it happen. I just realized there couldn’t be a better time for me to start Thankful Thursdays.

You may have seen Thankful Thursday posts in the blogosphere (I got the idea from Shannon at The Daily Balance), but the general idea is to take a moment each week to be grateful for everything in your life.  It recently occurred to me how little I actually live in the present. I couldn’t wait to go to college. I couldn’t wait to finally graduate college after six difficult years. I couldn’t wait to move to Boston. I couldn’t wait to get engaged. I couldn’t wait to move to Indianapolis. What about RIGHT NOW, this very moment?

I think the American lifestyle forces many people into a pretty negative mindset. We’re always too busy, too tired, too stressed, underpaid, overweight. There’s always something negative to focus on if you decide to view things that way. It reminds me of quote I like from one of my favorite writers, Indianapolis-native Kurt Vonnegut:

Let us be perfectly frank for a change. For practically everybody, the end of the world can’t come soon enough.

I love this quote because it jars you: That’s so morbid! Life should be enjoyed! It’s a gift! I think Vonnegut intentionally structured the quote to induce that reaction. It almost screams: Well, you complain about absolutely everything, so wouldn’t it be great if it were all over?

Truthfully, I have absolutely never been happier than I am right now. Here are just a few reasons why.

I have the most wonderful partner in my life, and I’m less than three months away from getting the privilege of marrying him. I couldn’t ask for someone more supportive, kind, patient, fun and loving to spend my life with. Our relationship is so insanely low stress and natural. A lot of people don’t have that.

We are financially stable and don’t ever have to worry about money. For some people, making rent is a constant struggle. Putting decent food on the table is a struggle. I can’t even imagine how stressful it would be to not be able to make ends meet. It’s worth remembering how lucky we are.

My family and friends are all well. I haven’t blogged about it, but last week a friend of mine was killed in a car accident. She was only 31 and leaves behind a 10-year-old son. I’ve been thinking about her every single day, and my heart hasn’t stopped hurting for one second.

So that’s the inspiration for Thankful Thursday: A reminder that every single second is more precious than we could even possibly imagine. What better way to appreciate all we have than to remember how easily it could all be taken away?

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for posting this, Laur! You’re right. We–myself included–don’t recognize the many things we should be thankful for on a daily basis. Love you!

    • This is a great post, Lauren! I definitely agree with you on this, always important to think of the ‘now’ because we will never get this time again. Everyday, I meet patients that remind me of how grateful and appreciative we should be. My heart goes out to them and I thank them for reminding me. Miss you, can’t wait to see you.

Leave a Reply

