iPod Roulette

Standard

I’ve seen this fun challenge circulating in the blogosphere and just knew I had to give it a try. Here’s the basic concept: Put your iPod on shuffle; let it play ten random songs; list out those songs on your blog no matter how embarrassing.

Jeff and I are huge music fans. We love everything from obscure indie bands to mainstream rock and Justin Timberlake. We’re not music snobs, and I admit to loving Shania Twain just as much as Jenny Lewis. I thought this challenge would be a good opportunity to explore our diverse music taste.

With the risotto simmering away, I threw the iPod on shuffle and spun the barrel.

  1. “Lil Jack Horny” byXtreme. Of course my iPod had to start things off by completely mortifying me. In case the title doesn’t speak for itself, this rockin’ ’80s tune is a decidely more adult take on the “Little Jack Horner” nursery rhyme. I realized this song does say something about my musical tastes, though: I’m not a fan of purchasing single songs off iTunes. In my opinion, songs don’t stand alone. If the full album isn’t worth buying, the band isn’t worth considering. I own this song because I love the ballad “More Than Words,” which is one this same album.
  2. “Hate Me” by Tantric. Boy, this song took me back to the ’90s. I love the song “Morning” off this album.
  3. “Goodbye Kiss” by Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. Finally, a song that represents my current playlists! Grace Potter has an amazing bluesy, powerful voice; and she also looks like a model. Ah, the luck. This album really rocks. Check out the song “Paris,” if you haven’t heard it already on practically every TV promo in recent months.
  4. “Death and Destruction” by Weezer. I think I have pretty much every Weezer album. While not all of them have been completely outstanding in my opinion, I respect Weezer’s staying power. They found their sound, they know what works, they keep making music people like.
  5. “Boogie on Reggae Woman” by Stevie Wonder. This song may have caused me to dance around my living room like an idiot. It also may have led to Jeff capturing a video of my 15-second Stevie Wonder impression…
  6. “Good Night” by The Beatles. Ah, a Ringo track. Reminds me of a hilarious Family Guy sketch summing up my opinion of Ringo. Other thoughts: It was really strange to hear this song out of context. I feel that way about most White Album tracks–they belong together, in sequence.
  7. “You Sent Me Flying” by Amy Winehouse. This is a track from her debut, Frank. The album is pretty good, but her sound definitely hadn’t evolved to its current state. She was also relatively clean cut when she recorded this, which probably made a difference. Just take a look at this live recording from 2007 and tell me she doesn’t look like a healthy, happy young girl.
  8. “The Water” by Feist. Leslie Feist simply has one of the most stunning voices of our time. The Reminder is one of my favorirte albums from the last few years.
  9. “Disorder” by Joy Division. To be honest, I’m not too familiar with Joy Division, beyond a vague awareness of their legendary status.
  10. “My Skin Is” by Andrew Bird. I’m not a huge Andrew Bird fan, but this is actually one of my favorites of his. I definitely appreciate his ability to musically multitask.
  11. Okay, I know I was supposed to stop at ten, but #11 ended up being “Up in Arms” by Foo Fighters. Given my rampant Foo obsession, I laughed at the irony of them showing up at #11.
Leave a Reply

